072615.beebe.014Monday : 9am to 9pm

Tuesday : 9am to 9pm

Wednesday : 9am to 9pm

Thursday : 9am to 9pm

Friday : 9am to 6pm

Saturday : 9am to 5pm

Sunday : 1-5pm (mid-September to mid-June)

You may return library materials at any time, even when we are closed, using the book drops by the Avon Street entrance. The drops are located on either side of the doors.

Download a map of the library here!

Library Maps

Holiday Closing Schedule 2017

New Year’s   Sunday, January 1 and Monday, January 2

Martin Luther King Day  Monday, January 16

Presidents’ Day  Monday, February 19

Easter   Sunday, April 1

Patriots’ Day   Monday, April 16

Memorial Day   Monday, May 28

Independence Day   Wednesday, July 4

Labor Day   Monday, September 3

Columbus Day   Monday, October 8

Veterans’ Day   Sunday, November 11 & Monday, November 12

Thanksgiving   Thursday, November 22 (close at 5pm Wednesday the 21st)

Christmas   Monday, December 24 & Tuesday, December 25

Closed Sundays from June 18 – September 17


The Lucius Beebe Memorial Library is located at 345 Main Street in Wakefield Square next to the Post Office at the corner of Main and Avon Streets. The Library does not have its own parking lot but on-street parking is available nearby in one-hour and two-hour spots.


Google Map

By Car : To reach the Library from Route 128/95, get off at Exit 39 (North Ave. Wakefield/Reading). If coming from the south, turn right at the bottom of the ramp If coming from the north, turn left at the bottom of the ramp. Continue on North Avenue past a cemetery on your left. Go through the set of lights. After the lights take your second left, which is Avon Street. The Library is at the end of Avon Street on the left.

By Subway: Take the Orange Line to Oak Grove station. From there take any MBTA bus numbered 136 or 137. Get off at Wakefield Center.

By Train: Take the commuter rail’s Reading/Haverhill Line and get off at the Wakefield stop. Cross North Avenue and walk to your left towards Anton’s Cleaners. One block beyond is Avon Street. Turn right onto Avon and proceed to the Library at the end of the block.

Not sure where to go once you find the building?  Download a map of the library here!


By mail:

Lucius Beebe Memorial Library
345 Main Street
Wakefield MA 01880-5093

By phone: 781-246-6334

By fax: 781-246-6385

By e-mail: email@wakefieldlibrary.org

For help with technology, reference questions, or other research assistance, you can schedule a reference appointment with one of our reference staff.

Or send us a message using the web form below:

Starred fields are required.