Online Databases

Beebe Library has many specialized online resources you can access 24 hours a day, 7 days a week if you have access to the Internet at your home, school, or office. Funded through your local library, the NOBLE network, and the state’s regional library system, you can access all of these useful research tools that are only available to library card holders. Click on the links below, and when asked, input your Wakefield library card number. If you are using one of the library’s computers, you will not need a card number.

NEW! Homework Help with Tutor.com

Tutor.com provides educational materials and websites that help with homework, writing, test preparation, and career searches in four separate modules covering kindergarten through undergrad college level and adult career and GED. Between the hours of 2pm and 11 pm it can also connect you with a live tutor. You may also create a personal account to save your info and request a favorite tutor. Please note that because of licensing Tutor.com is only available for Wakefield residents.

NEW! – Learn a Language

Thanks to funding from the Friends of Beebe Library, we are pleased to offer Mango Languages. Mango offers interactive learning to help you build speaking, listening, reading, and writing skills in many foreign languages as well as English as a Second Language. Mango replaces our subscription to the BYKI (Before You Know It) online language learning system. You can access Mango from the library or at home. From home or elsewhere you will need to log in with your NOBLE library card number. From there you can create your own free personal login which will allow you to track your progress as you learn.

NEW! – Local Consumer Information

Consumers’ Checkbook, from the Center for the Study of Services is an independent, nonprofit consumer organization founded in 1974 with the help of funding from the U.S. Office of Consumer Affairs. The online site has their complete archives, with detailed articles and ratings on Boston area services, contractors, car buying, health care, and much more. Please note that this subscription is only licensed for use within the library building.

General Research

Provides access to the full text of articles from popular magazines, scholarly journals, encyclopedias, newspapers, newswire services, business directories, investment reports, health pamphlets, prescription drug information, and literature reviews.

Newspapers

Encyclopedias

Health and Medicine

Business Research

Books and Reading

For Education Professionals

For Younger Users

Foreign Languages

Other Research Databases