Online Databases
Beebe Library has many specialized online resources you can access 24 hours a day, 7 days a week if you have access to the Internet at your home, school, or office. Funded through your local library, the NOBLE network, and the state’s regional library system, you can access all of these useful research tools that are only available to library card holders. Click on the links below, and when asked, input your Wakefield library card number. If you are using one of the library’s computers, you will not need a card number.
General Research
Provides access to the full text of articles from popular magazines, scholarly journals, encyclopedias, newspapers, newswire services, business directories, investment reports, health pamphlets, prescription drug information, and literature reviews.
- EBSCOHost Research Databases — Includes MasterFILE Premier, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Business Source Premier, Regional Business News, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, MEDLINE, Health Source - Consumer Edition and Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- Gale InfoTrac — Databases include: Academic OneFile, Biography Resource Center, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Educator’s Reference Complete, Expanded Academic ASAP, General BusinessFile ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Info Trac K-12 Junior Edition, Info Trac K-12 Student Edition, Info Trac OneFile, Kids InfoBits, Massachusetts History Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library
- eLibrary — Consumer-oriented magazines, books, newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, photographs and maps.
- Biography Resource Center — Includes biographies from reference books, full-text magazine articles, images, and website links. Search for current or historic people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, or by keyword and full text.
Newspapers
- Proquest: Massachusetts Newsstand — Fulltext from the Boston Globe back to 1980, the Boston Herald back to 1991, and several other Massachusetts newspapers including the Berkshire Eagle, BusinessWest, North Adams Transcript, Quincy Patriot Ledger, Plymouth County Business Review, Fitchburg Sentinel & Enterprise, Lowell Sun, Worcetser Telegram & Gazette, Haverhill Gazette and New Bedford Standard Times
- Boston Globe — Search the Boston Globe by itself, with full text coverage back to 1980.
- Boston Herald — Search the Boston Herald by itself, with full text coverage back to 1991.
- New York Times — Search the full text of the New York Times back to 1995 from Gale InfoTrac
- Newspaper Source — Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Encyclopedias
- Grolier Online — The full text of the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, aimed at middle and high school students, and the New Book of Knowledge, suitable for elementary level students.
Health and Medicine
- Health Source: Consumer Edition — Provides information aimed at the layperson on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition — Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text medical journals focusing on many health and nursing disciplines.
- Health Reference Center Academic — Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources found in InfoTrac’s Health Reference Center.
- MEDLINE — Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Business Research
- Business Source Premier — Business Source Premier is a comprehensive business periodical database that includes scholarly journals and business periodicals covering such topics as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
- Regional Business News — Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- General BusinessFile ASAP — Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
Books and Reading
- NoveList — Can help you find your next book to read. This database of over 143,000 fiction titles for readers of all ages lets you use your favorite authors or titles to link to other books you might enjoy.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism — An extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study.
- Literary Reference Center — A completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, and hundreds of literary journals.
For Education Professionals
- Professional Development Collection — Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. It also contains more than 200 educational reports.
- ERIC — ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
- Educator’s Reference Complete — A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education..
For Younger Users
- Kids Search — Kids Search makes it easy for students in grades K - 5 to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
- eLibrary — Full-text database of consumer-oriented magazines, books, newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, photographs and maps.
- Grolier Online — Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia and New Book of Knowledge.
- Infotrac Junior — Designed for junior high and middle school students. Includes mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books covering current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
- Kids InfoBits — Kids InfoBits targets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine and reference content.
Foreign Languages
- ¡Informe!(Revistas en Español)™ — Indexing, full text, and images of popular Hispanic magazines, and full text pamphlets on a variety of topics, such as health care.
Other Research Databases
- OCLC® WorldCat — Offers more than 46 million bibliographic records and holdings information for libraries around the world
- Massachusetts Special Collections Directory — The Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections Directory is a guide and locator of collections residing in Massachusetts libraries, archives, historical societies and town clerk’s offices.