Join us for a book discussion group called ‘Timeless Tales’! This group, facilitated by Reference Librarian Jeff Klapes (klapes@noblenet.org) focuses on classic literature from ancient to modern, from Austen and Dickens to contemporary award winners. The group generally meets on the second or third Saturday of each month from 10:30 am to noon.

Due to the library’s closure during the COVID-19 crisis, the group is meeting online via Zoom. If you would like to participate, please email for more information. Audiobook and eBook copies are available on Overdrive or Hoopla.

Upcoming meetings:

Saturday, August 22 (10:30am to noon) – The turn of the screw, by Henry James.

Saturday, September 19 (10:30am to noon) – Goethe’s Faust.

Saturday, October 17 (10:30am to noon) – Ralph Ellison’s The invisible man.

Saturday, November 14 (10:30am to noon) – Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s adventures in Wonderland.

Saturday, December 12 (10:30am to noon) – Free read! Share anything you’d like with the group.

Saturday, January 23, 2021 (10:30am to noon) – Walter M. Miller’s A canticle for Leibowitz.

Saturday, February 20, 2021 (10:30am to noon) – Vladimir Nabokov’s autobiography Speak, memory.

Saturday, March 20, 2021 (10:30am to noon) – Ovid’s Metamorphosis (preferably the Ted Hughes Tales from Ovid translation).

Saturday, April 17, 2021 (10:30am to noon) – Albert Camus’ The plague.

Saturday, May 15, 2021 (10:30am to noon) – The poetry of Walt Whitman.

Saturday, June 12, 2021 (10:30am to noon) – Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s Love in the time of cholera.

Summer 2021 (10:30am to noon) – Wilkie Collins’ The woman in white.