Our longest running book group brings together readers who enjoy discussing and sharing insights about a single title each month. Facilitated conversations are lively, intelligent, and insightful. The titles are mostly fiction, with one nonfiction choice included each year. The group chooses titles for the coming year by ballot in the spring. Book discussions are held on the third Wednesday of the month, September through June (no July or August meetings), and all adult patrons enthusiastic about reading and talking about books are invited to join us as often as they can. Before each meeting, you can pick up your copy for the next month’s discussion at the Circulation Desk. If you have questions, please contact Karen Stern at the Reference Desk or email stern@noblenet.org.


Next Meeting: June 17, 2020, 7:00 pm virtually with an emailed link from the coordinator
To Discuss: The Word is Murder by Anthony Horowitz

New York Times bestselling author of Magpie Murders and Moriarty, Anthony Horowitz has yet again reinvented the classic crime novel, this time writing a fictional version of himself as the Watson to a modern-day Holmes. One bright spring morning in London, Diana Cowper – the wealthy mother of a famous actor – enters a funeral parlor. She is there to plan her own service. Six hours later she is found dead, strangled with a curtain cord in her own home. Enter disgraced police detective Daniel Hawthorne, a brilliant, unpleasant investigator who’s as quick with an insult as he is to crack a case. Hawthorne needs a ghost writer to document his life, a Watson to his Holmes. He chooses Anthony Horowitz. Horowitz soon finds himself at the center of a story he cannot control. Can it get any more meta? A masterful and tricky mystery that springs many surprises.

Anthony Horowitz was born in 1955 in Stanmore, Middlesex, England into an upper middle class family. His father was a political advisor to the Labour Prime Minister, Harold Wilson. After attending public school (the equivalent in the US would be an elite private school), he studied at the University of York and graduated with a degree in English Literature and Art History.

He is the author of the New York Times bestseller Moriarty and the internationally bestselling The House of Silk, as well as the New York Times bestselling Alex Rider series for young adults. As a television screenwriter, he created Midsomer Murders and the BAFTA-winning Foyle’s War, both of which were featured on PBS’s Masterpiece Mystery. He regularly contributes to a wide variety of national newspapers and magazines, and in January 2014 was appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire for his services to literature. He is married to Jill Green a TV producer, has two sons, and lives in London.

To Think About While You Read: Anthony Horowitz is not only the author but the narrator and a character in this novel. What is Horowitz the author saying about the creative act of writing fiction and fiction’s relationship to truth by setting the story up this way?

Web Articles for Further Reading:
Anthony Horowitz On ‘The Word Is Murder’ an interview with Scott Simon npr.org, June 2, 2018.
‘‘The Word Is Murder’: A Mystery that Blends Fiction and Reality by Caroline E. Tew, thecrimson.com
June 10, 2018.
anthonyhorowitz.com/about – for more about the author and his other books, visit his website.

2020-21 SCHEDULE (2020-2021 discussion titles were voted on by group members in May 2020.)
September 16     Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
October  21        Circe by Madeleine Miller
November 18     The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti
December 16      Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts by Kate Racculia
January 20          Lanny by Max Porter
February 17        A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win WWII by Sonia Purnell
March 17            Disappearing Earth by Julia Phillips
April 21              Case Histories by Kate Atkinson
May 19               House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
June 16              Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield

Previous Discussions (1998 to 2020)